Tour the Black Pearl

by

Life can be very strange. I lived in the mid-west for a while and found all the yacht racing (on large lakes) I could want. I then moved back to the Atlantic coast and now cannot find a spot as crew on a racing yacht anywhere. For those who know little about me, that explains my keeping up with the Volvo Ocean Race.

And for now, it appears the closest I will get anytime soon to placing a racing yacht on its ear is this virtual tour of the Black Pearl, one of the yachts participating in the 2005-2006 Volvo Ocean Race and crewed by The Pirates of the Caribbean Racing Team.

Oh my captain, what I would give to look up and see a spinnaker filled with wind….

The ship is anchor’d safe and sound, its voyage closed and done;
From fearful trip, the victor ship, comes in with object won;

2005-2006 Volvo Ocean Race course map

2 Responses to “Tour the Black Pearl”

  1. katharyn ross Says:

    Thank you for a wonderful, though short, armchair adventure for those of us who work inside all day! The latest streaming (real footage) is wonderful. The animated camera perspectives, particularly “onboard” and “orbit”, at 10 minutes/sec with special effects such as bobbing and rain … well, the design of Virtual Spectator gives the best of virtual with actual reality, especially if one has a good-sized monitor. Imagine this on one of those 50″ plasma screens. The reports on each leg of the journey brought me even more into the experience. I haven’t sailed in more than 35 years and I missed your earlier commentary. Thanks for the update (reminder) and a few moments of pleasure. Something to look forward to each day!

  2. SippinWhisky Says:

    Virtual Spectator is pretty cool stuff. I enjoy it on my 21″ monitor. Size does matter, eh? I’d really love to see it on IMAX screen.

    Thank you for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

